Daily Archives: August 30, 2009

I ain’t yo super woman

Standard

I’ve come to realize that a lot of people in my life see me in a way I don’t see myself.  I don’t think the things I have done in my life have been extremely brave or adventurous.

I look at my life as a series of experiences some good and some bad, but I don’t think that I’m stronger than those who have come and gone in my life.  I don’t think I’m stronger than the average chick.

My Auntie G has pointed out time and again the things that I  have accomplished.  She thinks I’m the bee’s knees.  I don’t see myself that way.  I don’t have low self esteem, I just see myself moving onto the next thing.  I don’t think my mind is ever still.  EVER.

I’ve traveled alone, I’ve packed up my home and moved across the country, I’ve been a single mom riding 5 buses to get to work, I made it through basic training as an element leader, I made it through leadership school as a honor graduate, but I did those things because that’s who I was in those moments.  I didn’t STRIVE to be different, I didn’t STRIVE to stand out.  I just did me.

Now that I’m in nursing school I still don’t see myself as special.  I’m just doing me.  Nothing super about it in my eyes.

I don’t think the things I’ve done in my life were all that extrordinary, because I do them oft time begrudgingly, but I try and give 100%.

In all honesty I don’t believe the things I do are all that super simply because it’s me doing them.

I ain’t super I’m just me.