One Choice

Standard

I did my first mental health rotation today.  It was really hard, I knew before I went in it wasn’t the kind of nursing I wanted to do.  Small children who hurt animals, hypersexual teenagers who have been sexually abused looking for love in a mental facility.  It was harsh, the damage parents do to their children.

My instructor decided we would only get 30 minutes for lunch (even though our clinical schedule clearly said an hour).  I was a little pissed because I wanted to decompress a bit and I needed to go home and let the dogs out.  It’s cold and rainy here and I didn’t want them outside all day.

I rushed home and let them out.  I decided to fix myself a turkey sandwich and some baked chips.  I fixed an apple as a snack to take back to clinical with me.  I so wanted burger king (which was on the way home) and hot tamales(also on the way home).  I passed on both of them and ate at home.  I did have some left over junior mints…needed some chocolate!

I didn’t go to the gym today but I’m happy with the choices I made…it could have been so much worse.  It’s not the biggest thing, but I would say it’s the small things that add up to the big things.  One choice at a time.

4 responses »

  1. It was harsh, the damage parents do to their children.

    Yes. I have witnessed the worse acts imaginable.

    It’s just a sad and unfortunate thing for any young human being, so pure and innocent, both mentally and emotionally, to deal with their entire lives.

  2. I can…I am working my ass off so you can’t call me heffa no mo’!=o) I have to find a way to come up for air. With studying and training to include getting trained to take over 2 MAJOR programs…I have no time to eat dinner! That is insane in the membrane! Ugh!

Leave a Reply

