Good Mama Karma

Standard

It’s ass clenching cold here…hovering ’round 14 degrees with the wind blowing like a crazy.  I was on my way to pick up fixins for dinner and as I went to turn into wally world and I saw this young mother with a little guy in her arms walking down the block.  He was dressed in a light jacket with no hat or gloves.

It took me back to a time when I was a broke young mother (not saying the young mother was broke) and I ran to the store with the teenager in tow…he was around 2 or 3.  I lived in a cheap apartment with my ex (not the teenager’s father) and drove a hoopty.  I wasn’t even poor I was po’.  It was the end of the month and I had spent all of my food stamps (I ain’t shamed to admit I received help) so I was trying to stretch what lil money was left over to get us by.  I bought some milk and bread and I’m sure a few other things I can’t remember.  But I do remember it was cold…REALLY cold.  When I left the store my hoopty wouldn’t start.  I tried and tried but it just wouldn’t turn over.  This is before cell phones and I didn’t have anyone I could call.  My ex was in the army 2hrs away and only came home on the weekends.  So I grabbed what bags I could and put the J on my hip.  I hadn’t dressed him warmly because we weren’t going to be gone long and we weren’t that far from home.  I remember he started to cry, it was freezing.  He was so cold.  No hat, no gloves just his winter coat.  When we finally made it home, he was hysterical and I left his coat on and wrapped him in a huge blanket.  Today I was stuck in that memory.

I saw that young mother with that little boy walking down the block to wally world.  I started to tear up…that lil man was cold.

I went into the store and picked up a hat and pair of gloves for that lil man.  I found that young mother and her baby sitting in McDonald’s inside wally world.  I approached her and tried not cry.  I told her I didn’t want to offend her, but I noticed her lil man didn’t have gloves or a hat.  I told her I didn’t want her to upset her but I has seen her walking with him and I just wanted him to have a hat and gloves (mittens actually).  Then I started to cry.   She told me she had gotten a flat tire and had to walk with her son to the store.  She hugged me and thanked me for the hat and mittens.  I just walked away and finished my shopping.

God has brought me such a long way since those hoopty days, but today I realized that I am still that young mother.  I am worried about my “lil man”  but I am still trying to do what is best for him.

Something spoke to my spirit and I’m hoping the good that I try to do keeps other doing good for those who need it.

2 responses »

  1. She will likely never forget not only the good deed you did, but also the kindness that you showed her..

  2. Thank you for sharing that. I’m now bawling my eyes out.

    I love love for humanity.

Leave a Reply

