Nigger

Standard

Jah had a rough day today.  The director of the church’s after school program texted the mister to let him know that Jah was having a hard time of it.  There is really nothing new about this.  They never seem to contact me, so I get info late and 2nd hand from the mister.  I’m cool with that as long as I’m in the loop some where.

There is a kid in Jah’s class that is giving him fever.  Just being an all around dick.  Jah didn’t want to talk about it and the mister is red in the face and heated.  The kid told Jah he is stupid…which is FAR from the truth…and he called him and idiot…well he does have his moments but don’t we all?  But then the tears started…the kid called him a faggot and a nigger.  Well geez that’s not nice.  Did I mention the mister is heated and red in the face…well he is.  So he tells Jah to knock the kids head off….WOAH there angry red faced white man….WOAH!

Jah had reported the taunts (not the nigger or the faggot because he didn’t want to get in trouble for saying those words) to his teacher and the lil fucker was punished.

Now we found all of this out at 7pm on the night winter break begins.  So I tell Jah he did the right thing.  I told the mister that we CAN NOT allow him to be provoked to violence by words.  I can see how this goes down…some kids shouts “faggot…nigger”  Jah beats the brakes off of lil chad and then everyone is looking at MY kid like he’s the one with the issue (now Jah does have his own issues but this shit still is not cool).  You can’t prove words, but the kid who just got his ass handed to him by my 10yr old will sure have the markings to show the teacher and his parents.

See this is where having a non black spouse can cause a great divide.  He’s been white all of his life, and for the most part he hasn’t had to deal with being called these things.  So they strike at the core of who he is…a man, a father.

See I’ve been black for almost 40yrs and I’ve had wisdom passed down to me from my father who lived his formative years in the 50’s and 60’s.

My father told me loooong ago that nigger is a word that kills.  It kills the spirit, the soul and often the body.  Daddy told me not to give away my power.  To never allow someone to use THAT word to prove who they THOUGHT I was.  A word only has as much power as you give it.  While I never want my child to think it’s acceptable to be labled a nigger, I also don’t want that word to cause my child to lose control.  One word.  Nigger.  It hurt him. (but will make him stronger).

So my child has had a life lesson today.  Self control (because thankfully he didn’t black out on that stupid ass white boy and fuck him up cause Jah ain’t a peacemaker, no sir) and self awareness, he is not a nigger and he is not the descendent of niggers.

So when school starts I will write a letter to his teacher about this incident.  I will use the words he didn’t want to use and I will give her time to address the usage of such vile and hateful language.

I will tell you if this continues to happen I will be speaking DIRECTLY to the parent’s of the children involved and giving them a lesson on niggatry.

I have told Jah to let this child know that ignorance and hate speech this child receives at home is a sickness, just like cancer.  It eats away at the mind instead of the body.  I told Jah that this little boy’s home is probably poisoned and he should feel pity for this boy.  I know he may not understand it just yet, but I hoping in time my son can see who the real niggers are.

3 responses »

  1. I *want* to be shocked and horrified that in 2009 children are still throwing those words around. (I cannot even WRITE them.. I cannot even WRITE them and leave a letter out!)

    The things mankind does to mankind.. God must weep.

  2. you are true: it’s an atmosphere which the other child is subject, and like yourself i have to believe it has influenced him. so yeah i have to pity him and the beatdowns he will receive in life.

    but don’t let jah be the one to administer it!

    one thing i’ve learned in my 37 years – a person will ALWAYS receive whatever they go looking for.

Leave a Reply

