My Granny

Standard

I’ve written about my Granny often.  She was a very important part of my life while I was growing up.  I feel stronger knowing that she is where I come from.

I had a chance to visit her grave while I was home.  It is the first time I have been back to the cemetery since she passed 4yrs ago.

When I saw her headstone I was overwhelmed and so sad.  I wasn’t sad when she died, her body had broken down from years of working in someone else’s kitchen.  She was tired and weary.  I didn’t want her to suffer.  When she finally let go I was happy for her, I knew she was where she wanted to be.

But standing at her grave, while my sister was laying her grandmother to rest just yards away was painful.  More painful then I thought it would be.  All I could do was hug that piece of stone and remember she didn’t have to suffer any more.

When the headstone was being place, my Auntie G  asked if we wanted to put something on the back of the stone.  This is what marks my Granny place of peace.DSC01587

These are MY words, mine and mine alone.  I wrote this because in those moments of missing my Granny I always tried to remember what she had tried to teach us all of our lives.

I love and miss her, but I am who I am because of her.

Leave a Reply

