A mother’s work

Standard

My BFF KC has a daughter who is gifted.  She sings and acts and she’s only 7.  I think she something special but I’m kind of biased so I don’t count.

She has been scouted for Broadway, yes THAT Broadway and they want KC to move to NYC next year and start Ms. N. on auditions.  I’m excited for both of them.  Ms. N is the sweetest and kindest little thing going.

KC and I were talking about Ms. N’s current classes.  Voice and gymnastics.  Ms. N has voiced her objections to furthering her gymnastic training.  She doesn’t like it.  She doesn’t enjoy it at all.  Now KC isn’t what you would call a stage mom, she wants her daughter to be happy, but she wants her to get to a certain point in her training to make her more competitive in audition.  Ms. N has said the stage is what she wants to do, and she has the talent to do it.

I’m torn because I no nada about the stage and acting in general.  I know it’s competitive but when do say enough is enough when it come to training?  Ms. N has said no more gymnastics, and KC is torn.  She feels that learning certain stunts will make Ms. N. more competitive in the long run.

So what is a mother to do?

2 responses »

  1. i think it’s time to call it quits when the child isn’t having fun and isn’t doing it for themselves. sure, this may make her more competitive and i’m sure mom knows best, but if the child resents it, what’s the point???

    everyone wants their kid to be successful but sometimes, i question the cost in which that success has to come.

  2. I feel ya. I told her I have never seen Miley Cyrus doing any type of tumbling. LOL! I think she should be allowed to stop and pick a different activity. She has so many other talents, no need to concentrate on the one thing she doesn’t like or do all that well. I don’t get a vote.

Leave a Reply

