Times like these

Standard

I’ve written about my Mama issue on and off for years. ( I got daddy issues too but that is for another time)   I am at odds with how I feel about what is currently going on with her so I felt a need to write about it again.

My oldest son is graduating in May.  We are pulling him kicking and screaming out of boyhood, into manhood.  

Invitations/Announcements are going out in about a week, and most of my immediate family are attending.  This is a big deal because we are spread far and wide. 

The plan HAD been to attend the graduation and then caravan as a group to the water park a few hours down the road.  My big sis is coming from VA, after the tattoo ordeal I’m looking forward to seeing her.  We talked yesterday and she told me she wouldn’t be able to make it to the water park.  She spending a lot of loot to bring her family out from the east coast. I’m happy she’s coming so I ditched the plans for the trip to spend time with her and the rest of my family.  As she pointed out to me yesterday we don’t need a water park to have a ball…she is so very right!

Okay back to my moms…I called her to ask her about my childhood vaccinations (need them for nursing school).  It was 10 in the morning and I woke her from a sound sleep (well alrighty then) I asked how she was doing and all the nice stuff a good daughter is suppose to do.  She told me where I might find my shot records (health department in KS) and then went on to tell me rather nonchalantly, she wasn’t attending my son’s graduation.  I was hit like a ton of bricks.  She’s not coming because we’re all going to the water park the day after graduation…WHAT THE FUCK?

So now we aren’t going to the water park and I’m just on the fence about calling her back about the change in plans. 

You only get one mama and I’m trying really hard to appreciate the one I was given.

What do I do now?  Do I call and extend her invite AGAIN?  Do I just get on with my life and pretend like she doesn’t hurt me to the core of everything I am?

Times like these I wish I had a wishing tree.

3 responses »

  1. would her rejecting you again be worth the possible yes she can come?

    it sounds like the water park was her scapegoat reason for saying no b/c she could have easily come and not gone.

  2. I’m not sure how I feel about the possible rejection. I lived away (FAR away) from her for years, but now I live just 4hrs down the road, she’s not willing to come. I’ve been here for almost 4yrs already, I’m not sure I want her to come, she’s a bit much at times.

Leave a Reply

