Daily Archives: February 25, 2009

All Wrapped Up

Standard

My family is a military family, 3rd generation military. 

There are things I don’t always understand when comes to people and their kids.  I know I’m probably a strange one, because I am not all wrapped in my children.  I know God has blessed me with 3 beautiful healthy children, that I understand and am grateful for.  I love them but I like having a life separate from them.  I understand it’s my job to make them good people.  To make sure they are productive and successful in whatever they decide to pursue.  I stumble and fall when it comes to being a mother, BUT I never stay down.   I’m not as soft with them as I would like to be, I’m working it.  I’m in no way a perfect mother.

I’m saying all this to give you a backround on my mothering ways, and I know other folks may see and do things differently.

My B-I-L is home from Iraq on his 2 wk midtour visit.  He’s stationed in Alaska, he loves it there.  He left behind his wife of 1yr.

Now they kept their marriage on the low and only told a few select friends (not a great way to keep a secret).  They neglected to tell my M-I-L and my F-I-L (I know I shouldn’t laugh but that shit is priceless, more on that later).  Needless to say they were hurt and angry.  My M-I-L gave EVERYTHING for her boys.  Some (yeah some is me) would say she gave too much.  So not being at her middle son’s wedding hurt her to her core.  She can’t stand my new S-I-L (again I’m laughing on the inside AND the outside) she says she very immature and kind of a bitch.  Could be could be not.  I have never met her(they live in Alaska and I ain’t taking my black ass up there no matter how beautiful it is.  I don’t do cold weather, ESPECIALLY for vacay!)  

 There is a family history of “secret” weddings.   My M-I-L  didn’t tell her family my DH and I were married for over six months.  When she finally told them, the promptly kicked his ass out of the family for marrying a negress.   So a part of me sees this as karma boomerang bustin’ her in the head.  LOL!

As I said B-I-L is home visiting his wifey (hopefully laying some babies in that chick to take the heat off of me)  Now all of the boys are MAMA’S BOYS my husband included.  B-I-L decided to spend his two weeks with his wife (makes good sense to me…a man is going to stay where the pussy is…he’s a man).  Well of course he couldn’t tell his mama he wasn’t coming because HE decided to stay in Alaska and not fly to the east coast, he told her his wife had already made plans for his two weeks.  Yeah he threw her ass under the bus.  Must run in the family.  I got tire marks all up and down my back and that shit ain’t cute!

Now my M-I-L is hotter than a fat hooker in July.  LOL!!  What I can’t understand is WHY she’s mad.  She just saw him in Alaska in September.  Did she really expect him to leave his wife (pussy) in Alaska ?(cause they young and broke and can’t afford for both of them to fly)

My M-I-L is a military wife of over 25yrs, so I know she SHOULD understand, but I know she is so wrapped up in her boys that she expects them to reciprocate. 

Now it may seem that I don’t love my M-I-L but I love her with all my heart and soul.  She’s a great Nana to all of my kids, she kind and giving. 

I’m on the outside looking in and I can clearly see the damage that is done when you are all wrapped up in your children.  Children are ours for such a short time.  Give them what they need some of what they want and let.them.go. If you stay all wrapped up in your children, when they leave (as they should) you have nothing left to wrap yourself in, that’s a cold place to be.

How do you spell relief?

Standard

I ain’t even mad at him.  I understand the need for release.  So when he gets his and gets on.  I can’t even be mad.  Cuz I shole would have slept through it, if he hadn’t woken me up first.   I got to sleep in for the first time in months…mama’s happy…daddy’s happy… sweet relief!